Who has gained probably the most Champions League titles? Finals, winners & team data 

Who has gained probably the most Champions League titles? Finals, winners & team data 

Because the European competitors is hurtling in direction of its last phases, Aim takes a have a look at probably the most profitable golf equipment to have lifted the trophy

It is laborious to recollect a time the place the Champions League wasn’t dominated by a Spanish facet – however simply who’s probably the most profitable team within the competitors?

Actual Madrid have been the dominant drive in Europe in latest instances, however their spherical of 16 elimination this season by the hands of darkish horses Ajax may probably shift the main focus to facet to steal the highlight.

Aim rounds up probably the most profitable golf equipment in Europe’s most elite competitors.

Who has gained probably the most Champions League titles?

Los Blancos have gained the Champions League a report staggering 13 instances. Actual Madrid, below Zinedine Zidane, have been European champions for 3 consecutive years between 2016-18, matching Bayern’s three-time success in as a few years from 1974 to 1976.

The Madrid facet have gained the Champions League six instances since 2000 alone, with 4 of their most up-to-date triumphs occurring during the last 5 seasons. In that interval, they confronted native rivals Atletico Madrid twice within the last, and their most up-to-date success got here towards Liverpool in Kiev the place they bested the Anfield membership 3-1.

They’re adopted by Milan in second place, who’ve clinched seven Champions League titles. They final gained the competitors in 2007, additionally towards Liverpool. The victory got here as revenge for the famed 2005 last held in Istanbul, the place they squandered a 3-Zero lead within the first half after the Reds scored three targets in 4 minutes – sending the sport right into a penalty shootout, the place they misplaced.

Bayern Munich, Liverpool and Barcelona have every gained the trophy 5 instances. Liverpool’s final two appearances within the last have are available in losses – to Milan in 2007 and Actual Madrid in 2018.

Ajax have gained the event 4 instances although haven’t managed to take action post-1995, whereas Inter and Man United are on three trophies apiece. 

Juventus are nonetheless looking for their first Champions League trophy since 1996, which might be their third victory.

Membership Titles Runners-up Seasons gained Seasons runners-up
Actual Madrid 13 3 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018 1962, 1964, 1981
Milan 7 4 1963, 1969, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003, 2007 1958, 1993, 1995, 2005
Bayern Munich 5 5 1974, 1975, 1976, 2001, 2013 1982, 1987, 1999, 2010, 2012
Liverpool 5 3 1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005 1985, 2007, 2018
Barcelona 5 3 1992, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015 1961, 1986, 1994
Ajax 4 2 1971, 1972, 1973, 1995 1969, 1996
Inter 3 2 1964, 1965, 2010 1967, 1972
Man United 3 2 1968, 1999, 2008 2009, 2011
Juventus 2 7 1985, 1996 1973, 1983, 1997, 1998, 2003, 2015, 2017

Who was the final non-Spanish team to win the Champions League?

Spanish giants Actual Madrid and Barcelona have dominated the Champions League within the 2000s. Because the 2010 season, Actual Madrid and Barcelona have lifted the trophy six instances altogether. The 2 sides have been champions of the event for a consecutive 5 seasons, from the 2013-14 season to 2017-18.

Bayern are the final non-Spanish facet to have lifted the Champions League trophy, when Jupp Heynckes’s facet defeated German rivals Borussia Dortmund 2-1 at Wembley in 2012.

Chelsea are the final English team to win the competitors, with the Blues victorious only one season earlier than Bayern Munich’s triumph.

The London facet truly defeated the Germans by way of penalty shootout at Bayern Munich’s residence of the Allianz Enviornment, after Didier Drogba netted a late equaliser to cancel out Thomas Muller’s 83rd-minute strike – which was thought to have gained the sport.

Which teams get to maintain the Champions League trophy?

Trophy Real Madrid Liverpool Champions League final 26052018

Sides who’ve gained the Champions League a number of instances obtain the honour of getting an extra piece of silverware to commemorate their achievements.

Article continues under

Groups who’ve gained the event 3 times in a row – or 5 instances total – obtain a multiple-winner badge. This privilege has been earned by simply six golf equipment: Actual Madrid, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Liverpool and Barcelona.

Because the 2009 season, teams who’ve gained the event extra 5 or extra instances obtain a full-size reproduction of the trophy, whereas the unique is retained by UEFA.

No Comments

Post A Comment