What’s the European Golden Shoe? Winners, scoring & information to high scorer award

What’s the European Golden Shoe? Winners, scoring & information to high scorer award

A number of the biggest goalscorers in football historical past have plied their commerce in Europe, however solely a choose few have gained the Golden Shoe

The race for the 2018-19 Golden Shoe is approaching a grand finale because the season heads in the direction of a conclusion.

Barcelona star Lionel Messi is out in entrance as he chases his sixth trophy, however Paris Saint-Germain’s Kylian Mbappe is giving chase and never far behind.

You possibly can see the complete breakdown of this season’s Golden Shoe contenders by clicking right here.

As we wait to search out out who will come out on high, Purpose takes a have a look at the European Golden Shoe, its historical past, the gamers who gained it, how it’s awarded and extra.

What’s the Golden Shoe?

The European Golden Shoe (generally known as the European Golden Boot) is an award that’s given to the participant who finishes the season because the main league scorer of all of Europe’s high divisions.

First launched for the 1967-68 season by French football journal L’Equipe – who referred to as the award the Soulier d’Or, which interprets to ‘Golden Shoe’ – it’s introduced on an annual foundation.

Whereas conceived by L’Equipe, the accountability for awarding the Golden Shoe has been the remit of European Sports activities Media (ESM) – an affiliation of football-themed publications together with Marca, La Gazzetta dello Sport and kicker amongst others – because the 1996-97 season.

How are Golden Shoe factors scored?

Since ESM took over the operating of the Golden Shoe award in 1996-97, a factors system based mostly on league energy has been utilised in an effort to decide the highest scorer.

UEFA’s coefficient is the yardstick for factors weighting and the concept behind it’s to reward gamers who rating objectives in leagues which might be thought of to be of a better normal – thus tougher to attain in.

Objectives scored within the continent’s high 5 leagues being multiplied by an element of two, these scored within the leagues six to 21 are multiplied by an element of 1.5 and the remaining leagues by an element of 1.

As of 2018-19, the highest 5 European leagues have been: La Liga, the Premier League, Serie A, the Bundesliga and Ligue 1.

Golden Shoe winners

You possibly can see a listing of Golden Shoe winners because the 1996-97 season, when ESM took over the operating of the award, within the desk under.

Golden Shoe winners since 1996-97

*Click on on the season

Season Winner Objectives Factors
2018-19 TBC TBC TBC
2017-18 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 34 68
2016-17 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 37 74
2015-16 Luis Suarez (Barcelona) 40 80
2014-15 Cristiano Ronaldo (Actual Madrid) 48 96
2013-14 Cristiano Ronaldo (Actual Madrid) & Luis Suarez (Liverpool) 31 62
2012-13 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 46 92
2011-12 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 50 100
2010-11 Cristiano Ronaldo (Actual Madrid) 40 80
2009-10 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 34 68
2008-09 Diego Forlan (Atletico Madrid) 42 64
2007-08 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) 31 62
2006-07 Francesco Totti (Roma) 26 52
2005-06 Luca Toni (Fiorentina) 31 62
2004-05 Diego Forlan (Villarreal) & Thierry Henry (Arsenal) 25 50
2003-04 Thierry Henry (Arsenal) 30 60
2002-03 Roy Makaay (Deportivo La Coruna) 29 58
2001-02 Mario Jardel (Sporting) 42 84
2000-01 Henrik Larsson (Celtic) 35 52.5
1999-00 Kevin Phillips (Sunderland) 30 60
1998-99 Mario Jardel (Porto) 36 72
1997-98 Nikos Machlas (Vitesse Arnhem) 34 68
1996-97 Ronaldo (Barcelona) 34 68

In addition to the above winners, gamers to have scooped the accolade previous to 1996-97 embody Eusebio, Gerd Muller, Hugo Sanchez, Marco van Basten, Ian Rush and Hristo Stoichkov.

Notably, the award was not given out between 1991-92 and 1995-96, following a dispute with the Cyprus Football Affiliation in 1990-91 over who the rightful winner was. Purple Star Belgrade’s Darko Pancev, who scored 34 objectives that season, was later introduced with the Golden Shoe in 2006.

You possibly can see the complete checklist of winners from 1967-68 on the ESM web site.

Who has gained essentially the most Golden Shoe awards?

Lionel Messi Golden Shoe

It’ll come as little shock to most football followers that Lionel Messi has gained essentially the most Golden Shoe awards. The Barcelona star has secured the prize on 5 events (2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17, 2017-18).

No prizes for guessing that Messi’s perennial rival Cristiano Ronaldo follows the Argentina worldwide with 4 Golden Sneakers, which have been gained throughout his time with Actual Madrid (2010-11, 2013-14, 2014-15) and Manchester United (2007-08).

After Messi and Ronaldo, no participant comes shut, with solely a handful of gamers managing to clinch the trophy greater than as soon as. Thierry Henry, Luis Suarez, Diego Forlan, Eusebio and Gerd Muller all gained it twice, as did Mario Jardel, Fernando Gomes and Dudu Georgescu. Former Rangers striker Ally McCoist completed as Europe’s high scorer in 1991-92 and 1992-93, however did so throughout a time when the award was not deemed official.

Article continues under

Golden Shoe trophy

Cristiano Ronaldo Golden Shoe

The trophy for the Golden Shoe is, unsurprisingly, a golden shoe or, extra precisely, a golden football boot on a stone base.

Designs have modified over time however the present trophy seems to have been based mostly on the well-known Adidas Predator model of shoes, particularly the Predator Precision version.

No Comments

Post A Comment