Manchester Metropolis full clear sweep of Premier League awards

Manchester Metropolis full clear sweep of Premier League awards

Manchester Metropolis accomplished a clear sweep of the Premier League awards with defender Ruben Dias named Participant of the Season, Pep Guardiola named Supervisor of the Season and Phil Foden named Younger Participant of the Season on Saturday.

Dias is the second Portuguese to obtain the honour after former Manchester United ahead Cristiano Ronaldo whereas Guardiola has received the managerial award for the third time.

Stream FC Each day on Football4cast+

Dias was named England’s Footballer of the 12 months within the annual vote of the Football Writers’ Affiliation final month following an excellent debut marketing campaign after his transfer from Benfica.

Dias performed a key function in delivering Metropolis’s third Premier League title in 4 years in addition to the Carabao Cup, and helped his facet the Champions League remaining.

The 24-year-old was additionally named within the Skilled Footballers’ Affiliation (PFA) Group of the 12 months.

Dias is the fourth defender to be voted Participant of the Season by the general public, the captains of the 20 Premier League golf equipment and a panel of specialists after United’s Nemanja Vidic, former Metropolis captain Vincent Kompany and Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk.

His compatriot and former United ahead Ronaldo received the award in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Ruben Dias is the second Portuguese to win the award. Alex Gottschalk/DeFodi Photos by way of Getty Photos

Different nominees for the award this season included Kevin De Bruyne, Bruno Fernandes, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Mason Mount, Mohamed Salah and Tomas Soucek.

In 28 appearances, Foden scored 9 targets and offered 5 assists, establishing himself as a standout participant in Guardiola’s title-winning facet.

The 21-year-old is barely the second participant to win the award after Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold took the prize final yr.

Guardiola received the supervisor’s award in 2017-18 and once more in 2018-19 when he led Metropolis to consecutive league titles.

Underneath him, Metropolis conceded the fewest targets (32) this season and stored clear sheets in half of their video games (19) to complete 12 factors away from second-placed United.

Guardiola received the award forward of fellow nominees Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United), David Moyes (West Ham United), Brendan Rodgers (Leicester Metropolis) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (United).

No Comments

Post A Comment