Liverpool captain Henderson wins Football Writers’ Affiliation Footballer of the 12 months

Liverpool captain Henderson wins Football Writers’ Affiliation Footballer of the 12 months

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson has received the Football Writers’ Affiliation Footballer of the 12 months, it was introduced on Friday.

The award, voted on by the FWA’s members, has been operating since 1948 and crowns the participant adjudged to have been the perfect of the season in English football.

Liverpool’s Henderson wins FWA award
• Klopp on Lampard row: He should study
• Lampard: Liverpool workers crossed line
• Wondo leaves door open to MLS return
• Yaya Toure trains with English 4th tier aspect
• PL confirms Sept. 12 for brand spanking new season
• Sources: Leeds, Everton need Romero

Henderson mentioned: “I might wish to say how appreciative I’m of the help of those that voted for me and the Football Writers’ Affiliation on the whole. You solely have to have a look at the previous winners of it, a lot of whom I have been blessed to play with right here at Liverpool, like Stevie [Gerrard], Luis (Suarez) and Mo [Salah] to know the way prestigious it’s.

“However as grateful as I’m I do not really feel like I can settle for this on my very own. I do not really feel like something I’ve achieved this season or actually throughout my complete profession has been achieved on my very own. I owe loads to so many alternative folks — however none extra so than my present teammates — who’ve simply been unbelievable and deserve this each bit as a lot as I do.

“We have solely achieved what we have achieved as a result of each single member of our squad has been good. And never simply in matches. Not simply in producing the moments that make the headlines and the again pages however day by day in coaching.”

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp mentioned: “I noticed movies of him when he was younger, however he was already an distinctive participant. And it’s important to be able to combat day by day — and that is what he is achieved.

“If you wish to have a man who has fought his method by means of to turn out to be probably the greatest gamers within the league and this 12 months everyone acknowledged that. I’m actually happy with him.”

Henderson beat stiff competitors from Manchester Metropolis’s Kevin De Bruyne after captaining Liverpool to their first league title in 30 years. He additionally performed a key function in establishing the #PlayersTogether initiative, which helps increase and distribute cash for Britain’s Nationwide Well being Service amid the coronavirus disaster. De Bruyne was runner up, Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford was third whereas Henderson’s Liverpool teammates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane got here fourth and fifth respectively.

The midfielder moved to Liverpool from Sunderland in 2011 and after his preliminary struggles, has gone on to determine himself as one of many membership’s key gamers.

Henderson received the Champions League with the membership final season, in addition to the FIFA Membership World Cup and UEFA Tremendous Cup in 2019-20.

1 Associated

“The gamers who’ve began probably the most video games for us this season have been pretty much as good as they’ve been due to our tradition and the environment at Melwood. Nobody particular person is accountable for that — it is a collective effort and that is how I view accepting this honour,” he added.

“I settle for it on behalf of this complete squad, as a result of with out them I am not ready to be receiving this honour. These lads have made me a greater participant — a greater chief and a greater particular person.

“If something I hope those that voted for me did so partly to recognise the whole team’s contribution.

“Particular person awards are good and they’re particular and I’ll cherish this one. However a person award with out the collective achievement would not imply anyplace as a lot to me — if something in any respect.”

Henderson is the second Liverpool participant in three years to win the award, following on from Mohamed Salah in 2018. Manchester Metropolis’s Raheem Sterling scooped final season’s prize.

No Comments

Post A Comment